From the September 2026 research edition. Product details and prices are dated source records; confirm the exact model and manual before buying or making changes.
Research file 01. Compiled September 17, 2026. Electric only (no nitro or gas).
How to read this file
- Every fact ends with
[source: URL, date]. "acc." means the date I accessed the page (2026-09-17). "pub." means the page's own publication date, where it had one. - Manufacturer product pages (traxxas.com, horizonhobby.com, arrma-rc.com, losi.com, redcatracing.com) usually show no publish date. Treat their prices as list/MSRP-style prices seen on 2026-09-17. They change often because of sales, tariffs and 40th-anniversary promotions.
- Speed figures are manufacturer claims unless marked MEASURED.
- Page text was pulled with an automated fetch-and-summarize tool. Check anything load-bearing, especially prices, against the live page before publishing.
1. Traxxas
1a. Big 2026 change: the "Velineon 3s Brushless Power System" replaces VXL and BL-2s on the 1/10 2WD/4X4 line
- On June 19, 2026, Traxxas announced the Velineon 3s Brushless Power System. It pairs a new VX3 ESC with a Velineon V3200 brushless motor and ships in the Rustler, Slash and Stampede. The listed models are 37454-4 (Rustler 2WD), 67464-4 (Rustler 4X4), 58434-4 (Slash 2WD), 68454-4 (Slash 4X4) and 67454-4 (Stampede 4X4). The release promises "wheels-up, 60+ mph performance" on 3S LiPo and gives no prices. [source: https://www.prweb.com/releases/new-traxxas-product-debuts-massive-updates-to-set-industry-standard-302805077.html, pub. 2026-06-19]
- RC Driver separately reported an "All-New Traxxas Stampede 2WD Brushless" as model 136454-4 with the Velineon V3200 motor. The article gave no price or speed. [source: https://www.rcdriver.com/all-new-traxxas-stampede-2wd-brushless/, pub. 2026-06-26]
- Traxxas's news page lists "Traxxas 40th Anniversary Models" (Aug 6, 2026). It also lists "BL-2s Lower Prices + Free Battery & Charger" (Aug 6, 2025), which shows BL-2s pricing was cut in 2025. [source: https://traxxas.com/articles, acc. 2026-09-17]
1b. Model-by-model (Traxxas)
Slash 4X4 Brushless (new, 68454-4)
- $429.95; 1/10; Velineon V3200 sensorless brushless, 3200 Kv; 2S or 3S LiPo, NiMH not supported. Claim: "35+ mph with 2s LiPo battery, 50+ mph with 3s", with no gearing change mentioned. Battery and charger sold separately. [source: https://traxxas.com/slash-4x4-brushless-68454-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
Slash 4X4 VXL (legacy, 68386-4)
- 1/10; Velineon 3500 sensorless brushless; 6–9 cell NiMH or 2–3S LiPo. Claim: "60+ mph with optional gearing and 3s LiPo battery (items sold separately)". Battery and charger not included. No price was shown on the page (likely being phased out; unverified). [source: https://traxxas.com/slash-4x4-vxl-68386-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
Slash 2WD Brushless (new, 58434-4)
- $329.95; 1/10 RTR 2WD; Velineon 3200 motor with VX3 system. "Requires: Batteries & Charger." [source: https://www.rcdriver.com/traxxas-slash-brushless-2026-release/, pub. 2026-08-10]
Slash 2WD XL-5 brushed with battery (58234-8)
- $259.95; 1/10; Titan 12T 550 brushed motor; 7-cell NiMH or 2S LiPo. Claim: "30+ mph with 7-cell battery". Includes a 3000 mAh 8.4V NiMH iD battery and a 4-amp USB-C charger. Traxxas skill level 1. [source: https://traxxas.com/58234-8-slash-2wd-xl-5-wbattery, acc. 2026-09-17]
Stampede 4X4 Brushless (new, 67454-4)
- $399.95; 1/10; Velineon V3200, 3200 Kv, sensorless; 2S or 3S LiPo, no NiMH. Claim: "35+ mph with 2s LiPo battery, 50+ mph with 3s". Battery and charger not included (EZ-Peak 2970 recommended). Skill level 1. [source: https://traxxas.com/stampede-4x4-brushless-67454-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Retailer Excel RC lists it at $399.95 sale against a $600.00 "regular price". [source: https://www.excelrc.com/products/stampede-4x4-brushless-67454-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
Stampede 4X4 BL-2s (67154-4)
- 1/10; BL-2s 3300 Kv sensorless brushless; 6–7 cell NiMH or 2S LiPo. Claim: "Under 30 mph". Battery and charger not included. Traxxas shows it as out of stock with no price. [source: https://traxxas.com/67154-4-stampede-4x4-bl-2s, acc. 2026-09-17]
- RC Driver's 2024 write-up gave $329.99 and said it needs "4 AA's, 2S LiPo or 7-Cell NiMh Battery and Charger." [source: https://www.rcdriver.com/traxxas-stampede-4x4-bl-2s/, pub. 2024-04-02]
Stampede 4X4 VXL (90376-4)
- 1/10; Velineon 540XL 2400 Kv sensorless brushless; 6–9 cell NiMH or 2–3S LiPo. Claim: "60+ mph with optional gearing and 3s LiPo battery (items sold separately)". Battery and charger not included. Skill level 4. No price shown. [source: https://traxxas.com/90376-4-stampede-4x4-vxl, acc. 2026-09-17]
Rustler 4X4 VXL (67376-4)
- 1/10; Velineon 3500 sensorless brushless; 2–3S LiPo or 6–9 cell NiMH. Claim: "65+ mph with 3-cell LiPo and 20/54 gearing". Battery and charger not included. Skill level 2. No price shown. [source: https://traxxas.com/rustler-4x4-vxl-67376-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Its brushless successor, the Rustler 4X4 (67464-4), is named in the June 2026 release. I could not retrieve its product page, so price and specs are unverified. [source: https://www.prweb.com/releases/new-traxxas-product-debuts-massive-updates-to-set-industry-standard-302805077.html, pub. 2026-06-19]
Maxx with WideMaxx (89086-4)
- $599.95; 1/10; Velineon 540XL 2400 Kv 4-pole sensorless; 3S–4S LiPo, no NiMH. Claims: "55+ mph out of the box using single 4s LiPo battery" and "60+ mph with 4s LiPo battery and optional gearing". Battery and charger not included. Skill level 4. [source: https://traxxas.com/maxx-89086-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Current retail listings sell it as "Maxx with WideMaxx", meaning the wide suspension kit comes on the standard Maxx. [source: https://www.hobby-addicts.com/products/traxxas-maxx-with-widemaxx, acc. 2026-09-17]
X-Maxx (77096-4)
- $1,199.95; Traxxas's "X-Truck" scale (Traxxas gives no fractional scale); Velineon 1200XL 1275 Kv; 8S (two 4S packs). Claim: "50+ mph with two 4s LiPo batteries and included optional spur gear". Battery and charger not included. Skill level 6. [source: https://traxxas.com/x-maxx-77096-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
XRT (78086-4)
- $1,099.95; X-Truck scale; Velineon 1200XL 1275 Kv 4-pole; 8S via two 4S. Claim: "Up to 60+ mph with Two 4s LiPo Batteries (sold separately)". Battery and charger not included. Skill level 5. [source: https://traxxas.com/xrt-78086-4, acc. 2026-09-17]
Sledge (95096-4)
- $729.95; 1/8; 4-pole 2000 Kv sensorless brushless; 6S LiPo, or 4S via jumper. Claim: "70+ mph with 6s LiPo battery and optional gearing". Battery and charger not included. Skill level 4. [source: https://traxxas.com/95096-4-sledge, acc. 2026-09-17]
Mini Maxx BL-2s (107154-1)
- $289.95; Traxxas calls the scale "Mini" (no fractional scale confirmed); BL-2s 3300 Kv sensorless; 2S LiPo. Claim: "30+ mph". Includes a 3500 mAh 2S LiPo and a 2-amp USB-C iD charger. Skill level 1. [source: https://traxxas.com/107154-1-mini-maxx-bl-2s, acc. 2026-09-17]
Mini Rally VXL Ford RS200 (108046-1)
- $319.95 sale (from $339.95); "Mini" scale; Velineon 3500 Kv brushless; 2S/3S LiPo. Claim: "40+ mph with included 2-cell LiPo. 55+ mph with optional 3-cell LiPo (sold separately)". Includes a 3500 mAh 2S LiPo and a 2-amp USB-C charger. Skill level 1. [source: https://traxxas.com/108046-1-mini-rally-vxl-ford-rs200, acc. 2026-09-17]
1/16 E-Revo VXL with battery (71076-8)
- 1/16; Velineon 380 4000 Kv sensorless; 6–12 cell NiMH or 2–3S LiPo. Claim: "30+ mph (50+ mph with dual batteries)". Includes a 1200 mAh 6-cell NiMH iD battery and a 2-amp USB-C charger. Skill level 2. No price shown on Traxxas.com. [source: https://traxxas.com/71076-8-116-e-revo-vxl-wbattery, acc. 2026-09-17]
1/18 lines. I did not verify any current Traxxas 1/18 basher; the TRX-4M is a crawler. [gap]
1c. How Traxxas qualifies speed claims (verbatim patterns)
- "with optional gearing and 3s LiPo battery (items sold separately)": Slash 4X4 VXL, Stampede 4X4 VXL.
- "with 3-cell LiPo and 20/54 gearing": Rustler 4X4 VXL.
- "with 4s LiPo battery and optional gearing": Maxx. Out of the box it is "55+ mph".
- "with two 4s LiPo batteries and included optional spur gear": X-Maxx.
- "35+ mph with 2s LiPo battery, 50+ mph with 3s": the new 2026 V3200 models, with no gearing qualifier.
- Sources: the product pages cited above, acc. 2026-09-17.
- Takeaway for writers: a headline Traxxas number often needs a battery sold separately and a gear that may not be installed.
2. ARRMA (Horizon Hobby)
2a. Lineup note: the 3S "BLX" 1/10 trucks are now "223S"
- The 1/10 4X4 Granite, Big Rock, Senton and Vorteks, and the 1/14 Typhon Grom, now ship as "223S" (2S/3S) versions. They use a Spektrum 3100 Kv motor and a Spektrum SLT 80A 2-in-1 ESC/receiver with DSC. Big Squid's Vorteks 223S news post (Nov 14, 2024) gave a $329 street price and a "50+ Mph Pro-Level speeds when driven on 3S" claim. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/arrma-1-10-vorteks-223s-blx-brushless-4wd-rtr-stadium-truck/, pub. 2024-11-14]
2b. Model-by-model (Horizon Hobby prices seen 2026-09-17)
- Granite 223S 4X4 (ARA4302V4T): $339.99; 1/10; Spektrum 3100 Kv; 2S/3S. Claim: "potential for 50+ mph speeds". Battery and charger not included. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/arrma-1-10-granite-223s-4x4-rtr-brushless-monster-truck/ARA4302V4.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Big Rock 223S 4X4 (ARA4312V4T): $369.99; 1/10; 3100 Kv; 2S/3S. Claim: "50+ mph speed potential". Battery and charger not included. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-10-big-rock-223s-4x4-rtr-brushless-monster-truck/ARA4312V4.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Senton DSC 223S: $339.99; 1/10; "50+ MPH". Vorteks 223S: $339.99; 1/10; "50+ MPH". Fury DSC 223S (2WD SCT): $249.99; "50+ MPH". Gorgon 223S: $259.99; "50+ MPH". Quake: $269.99; "50+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/by-speed/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Typhon Grom DSC 223S (ARA2306T1): $209.99, or $249.99 with battery and charger; 1/14; Spektrum 2838 4500 Kv; 2S/3S. Claim: "50+ mph" on 3S, about 35 mph on 2S. [source: https://www.arrma-rc.com/en/product/arrma-1-14-typhon-grom-223s-dsc-4x4-rtr-brushless-buggy/ARA2306.html, acc. 2026-09-17; bundle price from https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/all-vehicles/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Typhon Grom (brushed, bundle): $149.99 with battery and charger; "20+ MPH". Mojave Grom DSC 223S: $229.99, or $269.99 bundle; 1/16; "50+ MPH". Quake Grom bundle: $169.99; "20+ MPH". Mini Kraton 3S: $299.99, or $339.99 bundle; 1/16; "50+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/by-speed/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Gorgon 2WD brushed with battery and charger (ARA3230S): $189.99; 1/10; Mega 550 14T brushed; includes an 8.4V 3300 mAh 7-cell Spektrum Smart NiMH and an S120 USB-C charger; 2S LiPo compatible. Claim: "20+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-10-gorgon-4x2-mega-550-brushed-monster-truck-rtr-with-battery-and-charger/ARA3230S.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Kraton 4S (1/10): $549.99; "55+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/by-speed/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Kraton 6S V6 (ARA8608V6T15): $699.99; 1/8; Spektrum Firma 4074 2050 Kv; Firma 150A Smart ESC; listed for 2S/3S/4S/6S. Claim: "65+ MPH". Battery and charger not included. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-8-kraton-6s-4x4-rtr-brushless-speed-truck/ARA8608V6.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- 6S family prices: Kraton EXB 6S $829.99; Notorious 6S $699.99; Typhon 6S $579.99; Typhon TLR Tuned 6S $699.99; Infraction AVC 6S (1/7) $699.99; Felony AVC 6S $699.99 ("80+ MPH"); Mojave 6S $719.99 ("60+ MPH"); Mojave 6S EXB $849.99; Talion EXB 6S $829.99 ("75+ MPH"). [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/arrma-brand-power-system-6s/ and https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/by-speed/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Infraction 223S (1/8): $449.99; "65+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/by-speed/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Kraton 8S EXB AVC (1/5) and Outcast 8S EXB AVC (1/5): $1,099.99 each; both "50+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/arrma/arrma-brand-power-system-8s/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Limitless 120 8S AVC (ARA7816T15): $799.99, or $959.98 as a combo with two batteries; 1/7; Spektrum Firma 4685 1450 Kv; 6S/8S. Claim: "120+ mph with included optional speed gearing". Batteries and charger not included in the base kit. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-7-limitless-120-8s-avc-4x4-rtr-speed-machine/ARA7816.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
2c. How ARRMA qualifies speed
- ARRMA uses softer wording: "potential for 50+ mph", "50+ mph speed potential", "on 3S", and "with included optional speed gearing" on the Limitless. Sources: pages above.
3. Losi (Horizon Hobby)
- Mini-T 2.0 2S 2WD brushless with battery and charger (LOS-1056T): $229.99; 1/18; 2S; includes a Spektrum Smart G2 2S LiPo and a USB-C charger. Horizon's page showed no speed claim or motor Kv. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-18-mini-t-2.0-2s-2wd-rtr-brushless-stadium-truck-battery-and-charger-included/LOS-1056.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Mini-B 2S 2WD brushless with battery and charger (LOS01024T1): $229.99; 1/16; Spektrum Firma 6000 Kv motor/ESC combo; 2S; includes a Smart G2 2S LiPo and a USB-C charger. No speed claim found. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/losi-1-16-mini-b-2s-2wd-rtr-brushless-buggy-battery-and-charger-included/LOS01024.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Mini LMT 2S 4X4 RTR (Son-Uva Digger, Grave Digger, Zombie, Megalodon, Sparkle Smash): $249.99; 1/18; described as a brushed monster truck; battery and charger included; "20+ mph". [source: https://www.losi.com/cars-and-trucks/by-platform/lmt/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- LMT 2.0 4X4 solid-axle brushless (Son-Uva Digger, Grave Digger): $699.99; 1/8; "45+ mph". [source: https://www.losi.com/cars-and-trucks/by-platform/lmt/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Baja Rey 2.0 (Ford Raptor or F100 bodies): $549.99; 1/10; "50+ MPH". Super Baja Rey (1/6): $949.99; "50+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/losi/all-vehicles/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- DBXL-E 2.0 V2 8S (LOS05020V2): 1/5; Spektrum Firma 4-pole 780 Kv; 6S/8S; "50+ MPH"; batteries and charger not included. The page showed no price. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-5-dbxl-e-2.0-v2-8s-4x4-rtr-brushless-desert-buggy/LOS05020V2.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Promoto-MX 2S RTR motorcycle: $499.99; 1/4; 2S LiPo; "40+ MPH". Horizon's summary said a 2S 5000 mAh LiPo and charger are included. That conflicts with the separate $549.99 "Pro Circuit (Battery and Charger Included)" SKU; see Conflicts. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/losi-1-4-promoto-mx-2s-rtr-brushless-motorcycle/LOS06000.html and https://www.horizonhobby.com/losi/by-platform/?start=24, acc. 2026-09-17]
- 22S (dirt oval, not a basher): 22S Sprint $349.99, or $399.99 with battery; 22S Dirt Late Model $379.99 (Summit Racing version $419.99); all "25+ MPH". [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/losi/all-vehicles/, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Tenacity: Losi's Tenacity platform page returned "This product is not available any longer" with no vehicles listed. It appears discontinued or out of stock in the US as of Sept 2026 (not confirmed by an announcement). [source: https://www.losi.com/cars-and-trucks/by-platform/tenacity/, acc. 2026-09-17]
4. Team Associated/Element, Redcat, HPI, Tamiya (brief)
- Team Associated Rival MT10 V2 Brushless RTR (ASC20518): 1/10; Reedy 3300 Kv brushless; 2–3S LiPo; needs a battery and charger. Horizon showed no price or speed claim. [source: https://www.horizonhobby.com/product/1-10-rival-mt10-4x4-brushless-monster-truck-rtr-v2/ASC20518.html, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Element RC: no current basher data verified. [gap]
- Redcat Kaiju EXT: $499.99; 1/8; 4068 2100 Kv 4-pole brushless; runs 6S, 4S, dual 3S or dual 2S; battery and charger not included; no speed claim on the page. [source: https://www.redcatracing.com/products/kaijuext, acc. 2026-09-17]
- HPI Racing: Ripmax bought the HPI brand in 2016. [source: https://www.liverc.com/news/hpi-racing-design-llc-now-opened-for-business-in-california-supply-and-manufacturing-channel-in-china-revamped/, pub. 2016-09-15] The Vestergaard Group took control in 2019. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/new-owners-for-hpi-racing/, pub. 2019-07-01] I did not verify HPI's 2025–26 US lineup or pricing. [gap]
- Tamiya TT-02: Tamiya USA lists several TT-02 variants (TT-02 Type-S, Type-SR, Type-SRX, TT-02R, TT-02BR, TT02B "First Try"). [source: search listing of tamiyausa.com pages, acc. 2026-09-17] The Tamiya USA pages were behind a CAPTCHA, so prices and inclusions are unverified. The general point that these are build-it-yourself kits that usually need an ESC, radio, battery and charger is from background knowledge and must be verified before publishing. [gap]
5. Budget and direct-to-consumer brushless
MJX Hyper Go
- 14209 (1/14 desert truck), Big Squid RC review: $178; 4-pole 4400 kV sensorless brushless; includes a 2S 3000 mAh LiPo and USB charger. MEASURED: "Top Speed (measured by BSRC on 2S stock LiPo): 26 MPH" (method not stated). Verdict: "looks good, drives well, has good power, and can take a beating." The servo failed only after deliberate extreme abuse. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/review-mjx-hyper-go-1-14-desert-truck-brushless-rtr/, pub. 2026-03-04]
- 14209, QuadifyRC review: about $150; 2852 4400 KV brushless; 45A ESC ("capable of 3S, though 2S recommended"); 2S 3000 mAh LiPo. MEASURED: "around the 46-50km/h mark depending on the surface" (about 29–31 mph). Parts: "Banggood have listed all the spares ... really reasonably price[d]". [source: https://www.quadifyrc.com/rccarreviews/mjx-hyper-go-14209-brushless-rc-desert-truck-review-mjx-can-do-no-wrong, pub. 2023-09-09]
- 14210 (1/14 short course truck), QuadifyRC: just over $150; claim "55km/h"; 2852 4400 KV; 2S 3000 mAh. MEASURED with a SkyRC GSM020 GPS: 46 km/h on gravel, and the reviewer thought hitting the advertised 55 km/h was "probably a stretch". Spares widely available on Banggood. [source: https://www.quadifyrc.com/rccarreviews/mjx-hyper-go-14210-brushless-rc-truck-review-my-favourite-offroad-rc-2023, pub. 2023-12-08]
- 14210 V3, Serious-RC (UK retailer): claims "47 MPH on 3S 11.1v" and "36 MPH on 2S"; 4400 kV motor, 45A ESC. Method not stated, and the source is a retailer that sells the car and upgrades. [source: https://www.seriousrc.co.uk/pages/mjx-hyper-go-rc-truck-review, acc. 2026-09-17]
- H16H/H16E (1/16): about $100; brushed 390 motor; 2S 1000 mAh smart battery. MEASURED: "31km/h as measured by the internal GPS" (the car has built-in GPS telemetry). Runtime about 7–8 minutes. The review says brushless 16208/16209 versions exist. [source: https://www.quadifyrc.com/rccarreviews/mjx-hyper-go-h16h-and-h16e-review-a-very-durable-rc-truck-with-built-in-gps-and-smart-tech, pub. 2022-08-19]
- 16208/16210: no verified specs, price or measured speed. [gap]
Rlaarlo
- AK-917 (1/10 on-road): $329.99 on Rlaarlo's page. Two versions: carbon-fiber (3660 3900 KV) and metal (3650 4300 KV). Includes a 2S 3300 mAh LiPo. Claim "120 km/h", and "When using 4S Lipo battery and upgraded motor, etc, it can bash at an amazing speed of 200km/h". The page showed "Coming Soon" and a UK-only availability note on the day accessed. [source: https://rlaarlo.com/products/1-10-carbon-fiber-brushless-ak-917, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Rlaarlo's blog ties the 200 km/h figure to 4S, an upgraded F3650 motor and "the correct deceleration ruler and motor teeth" (gearing). [source: https://rlaarlo.com/blogs/article/reveal-the-secret-of-ak917s-high-speed, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Castle Creations publishes AK-917 upgrade combos with estimates of "~40MPH" (Copperhead 10), "~50MPH" (Mamba X) and "~60MPH" (Cobra 10). Its caveat: "All speed estimates are with stock tire diameter, high quality batteries and appropriately sized battery connectors." [source: https://www.castlecreations.com/en/rlaarlo-ak-917, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Owner reports on ARRMA Forum (April 2023) relay YouTube runs of 75–85 mph on 3S/4S. These are second-hand and not independently verified. [source: https://www.arrmaforum.com/threads/rlarrlo-ak-917.60083/page-8, posts 2023-04-05/06]
- Storm Breaker SBK10 (1/10 buggy), Big Squid review: $219; 3100 kV 2852 brushless; includes a 3S 2200 mAh LiPo. MEASURED: "28 MPH" on 3S stock LiPo. Called "arguably the best 10th scaler basher" they had tested. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/the-rlaarlo-1-10-storm-breaker-sbk10-metal-brushless-4wd-rtr-buggy-review/, pub. 2026-01-21]
- Dragon Scale Knight (1/8 buggy), Big Squid review: $499; 4274 2050 Kv; 6S capable (tested on 4S, battery not included); no speed measured. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/review-rlaarlo-1-8-dragon-scale-knight-rtr-brushless-buggy/, pub. 2026-06-19]
- Big Squid also reviewed the Rlaarlo XTS-S10 rally car (Dec 23, 2025) and the XTS-P12 (Jul 4, 2025). I did not extract their contents. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/?s=review+rlaarlo, acc. 2026-09-17]
WLtoys
- 124016/124017 (1/12): claim "70 km/h"; 2845 3400 Kv brushless; 2S 2200 mAh; $153 ($133 with code) in 2021. Preview only, no measurement. The reviewer said the 70 km/h claim "would be plausible if you were able to run a 3s pack." [source: https://www.quadifyrc.com/rccarreviews/wl-toys-124016-124017-preview-first-factory-brushless-wl-toys-rc-cars, pub. 2021-07-15]
- 144001 (1/14): ships brushed, with a 2S 1500 mAh stock pack; about $70–90 (article-era pricing). The reviewer's setup advice: shocks come overfilled and leak, diffs need more grease, and camber/toe need aligning. Aftermarket metal parts are widely available. [source: https://www.quadifyrc.com/rccarreviews/wl-toys-144001-setup-3-things-you-must-do-before-you-even-turn-it-on, pub. 2020-05-25]
- 124019: only the 2020 QuadifyRC preview is listed ("Upgraded and embiggened 144001"); I did not extract it. [source: https://www.quadifyrc.com/rccarreviews/category/wltoys, acc. 2026-09-17]
- No 2025–26 GPS-measured speed found for 144001, 124017 or 124019. [gap]
Haiboxing/HBX, SCY, Hosim, DEERC
- HBX 2997A, RC Hobby Lab review: under $200; reported 29 mph on 2S and 41 mph on 3S (flat pavement); motor listed as "15T brushed"; two 2S 1800 mAh LiPos included. Low confidence; see Conflicts. [source: https://rchobbylab.com/reviews/haiboxing-hbx-2997a/, pub. 2024-01-29]
- SCY, Hosim, DEERC: fetch attempts were rate-limited, so no verified data. [gap]
6. Claimed versus measured speed
| Vehicle | Claimed | Measured | Conditions and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| MJX 14210 | 55 km/h | 46 km/h | GPS (SkyRC GSM020), gravel, stock 2S. QuadifyRC, 2023-12-08 |
| MJX 14209 | none stated in review | 46–50 km/h | Stock 2S, surface-dependent. QuadifyRC, 2023-09-09 |
| MJX 14209 | none stated in review | 26 mph | Stock 2S, method not stated. Big Squid, 2026-03-04 |
| MJX H16H/E | none cited | 31 km/h | Car's built-in GPS. QuadifyRC, 2022-08-19 |
| Rlaarlo SBK10 | none cited | 28 mph | Stock 3S. Big Squid, 2026-01-21 |
| Rlaarlo AK-917 | 120 km/h stock; 200 km/h with 4S, motor upgrade and gearing | 75–85 mph | Forum hearsay only. ARRMA Forum, 2023-04 |
Patterns worth citing
- Traxxas qualifies its biggest numbers with "optional gearing", "3s LiPo battery (items sold separately)" or specific gear ratios such as "20/54". Newer 2026 V3200 models give separate 2S and 3S figures with no gearing qualifier. (Traxxas pages above.)
- ARRMA uses "potential" wording ("50+ mph speed potential") and "included optional speed gearing" on the Limitless. (Horizon pages above.)
- Castle Creations frames upgrade speeds as estimates that depend on stock tire diameter, battery quality and connectors. (Castle page above.)
- Budget brands' headline claims often assume a 3S pack or upgrades not in the box, as with the AK-917 200 km/h and the WLtoys 70 km/h "plausible ... on 3s". (Sources above.)
- I found no dedicated RC Car Action or Big Squid article comparing claimed and measured speeds across brands. Search budget ran out before I could look further. [gap]
7. Toy-grade vs hobby-grade and age guidance
- The Traxxas Mini Maxx BL-2s owner's manual states: "This model is not intended for use by children under 18 years of age without the supervision of a responsible and knowledgeable adult." It adds: "Traxxas does not recommend that anyone under the age of 18 use or handle LiPo battery packs without the supervision of a knowledgeable and responsible adult." [source: https://traxxas.com/media/productattach/C-107154-1/2/107154-1-OM-EN-R03.pdf, acc. 2026-09-17]
- The "14+" age mark commonly quoted for Traxxas (usually on packaging) was not verified in this pass. The manual wording above is the citable figure: under 18 needs adult supervision.
- Traxxas rates difficulty on its own "Skill Level" scale, shown on product pages. Examples: Slash 2WD XL-5 is 1, the new Stampede 4X4 Brushless is 1, Mini Maxx is 1, Stampede 4X4 VXL is 4, Sledge is 4, XRT is 5, X-Maxx is 6. [sources: Traxxas product pages cited in section 1, acc. 2026-09-17]
- Beginner-friendly inclusions: RTRs that include a battery and charger are the easiest start. Examples: Traxxas Slash 2WD XL-5 with battery ($259.95), Mini Maxx ($289.95) and Mini Rally VXL ($319.95); ARRMA Gorgon brushed bundle ($189.99) and Typhon Grom bundle ($149.99); Losi Mini-T 2.0 and Mini-B ($229.99) and Mini LMT ($249.99). Most 3S and 6S models include neither. (Sources above.)
- ARRMA and Losi printed age recommendations: not found on the product pages fetched. [gap]
Conflicts/uncertain
- MJX 14209 measured speed: Big Squid measured 26 mph on stock 2S (2026), while QuadifyRC reported 46–50 km/h (about 29–31 mph) on 2S (2023). Possible causes are surface, battery charge, GPS device or a production revision. Report both with dates.
- MJX 14209 motor Kv: Big Squid and QuadifyRC say 4400 kV, but RC Hobby Lab's review says "3300Kv". RC Hobby Lab also reports 39 mph on 3S, which it seems to have measured itself; its summary presented that as a claim.
- RC Hobby Lab reliability: its 14210 review describes a "Brushed 370 motor" and 1500 mAh battery, which contradicts QuadifyRC and Serious-RC (4400 kV brushless, 3000 mAh). Its HBX 2997A review lists a "15T brushed" motor yet 41 mph on 3S. Treat rchobbylab.com as low-confidence.
- Serious-RC 14210 V3 speeds (36/47 mph) come from a retailer that sells the car and upgrades, and give no method. They are much higher than QuadifyRC's GPS 46 km/h (about 29 mph) on 2S.
- Traxxas prices missing: Slash 4X4 VXL, Stampede 4X4 VXL, Rustler 4X4 VXL, Stampede 4X4 BL-2s and 1/16 E-Revo pages showed no price ($0 in metadata, BL-2s out of stock). These may be being phased out for the 2026 V3200 models. Unverified.
- Traxxas 60+ mph vs 50+ mph: the June 2026 press release says the Velineon 3s system gives "60+ mph", but the Slash 4X4 Brushless and Stampede 4X4 Brushless pages say "50+ mph with 3s". The 60+ figure may assume optional gearing or a different model. Unresolved.
- Stampede 4X4 Brushless "regular price" $600.00 on Excel RC looks like a retailer compare-at price, not a Traxxas MSRP. Traxxas lists $399.95.
- Mini Maxx and Mini Rally scale: Traxxas calls both "Mini"; the fetch tool rendered this as "1/10 scale components". Do not print a fractional scale without checking.
- Promoto-MX included battery: the base LOS06000 summary said a battery and charger are included, but Horizon also sells a separately named "Pro Circuit (Battery and Charger Included)" SKU at $549.99. The base $499.99 version may not include them. Verify.
- ARRMA Limitless battery requirement: the fetch summary said "4S or (2) 3S Hardcase LiPo". That is inconsistent with an 8S truck (two 4S would be expected). Verify on the live page.
- Rlaarlo AK-917 availability: the product page showed "Coming Soon" and a UK-only note on the access date, so US availability and price are uncertain.
- AK-917 speed: manufacturer claims range from 120 km/h stock to 200 km/h (blog) and 226 km/h (reported in a forum post). Only second-hand YouTube or forum speeds (75–85 mph) exist. None were independently verified here.
- Losi Tenacity: the platform page shows no products. Discontinuation is inferred, not confirmed.
- Horizon's DBXL-E 2.0 V2 page showed no price, and its battery text ("3S or dual 4S") looks garbled for a 6S/8S vehicle. Verify.
Research gaps (not covered because of tool limits)
- The web search quota (200 calls, shared across the session) ran out, and WebFetch was then rate-limited (HTTP 429). As a result, these were not verified: SCY, Hosim, DEERC; MJX 16208/16210; WLtoys 144001/124019 claimed speeds and 2025–26 prices; Tamiya TT-02 pricing and inclusions; HPI's current lineup; Element RC; Redcat beginner models; AMain street prices (AMain pages returned no product data); Traxxas 1/18 bashers; the Traxxas "14+" packaging mark.