From the September 2026 research edition. Product details and prices are dated source records; confirm the exact model and manual before buying or making changes.
Research date: 2026-09-17. All sources were accessed 2026-09-17 unless noted otherwise. Where a page shows its own publication date, it is given as "pub." Retail prices are snapshots from that day and change often. Items that could not be confirmed from a primary or reputable source are marked unverified.
Method note: Several manufacturer pages (fcc.gov FAQ, flysky-cn.com, arrma-rc.com PDFs, fcc.gov/oet/ea/fccid) blocked automated fetching. In those cases I used retailer pages, law-firm alerts or official FCC PDFs (docs.fcc.gov), and I say so. The web-search budget ran out before sections 5 and 6 were finished, so some sub-items there rely on direct fetches of known official URLs.
1. Surface radios (2025–2026)
Futaba
- 7PXR: MSRP $599.99. It has a 4.3-inch colour transflective touchscreen, 40 model memories, NFC, mixing (brake, 4WS, dual ESC, gyro, tank, CPS-1), S.Bus servo programming, MC-Link to Futaba ESCs and vibration feedback. It supports T-FHSS-SR, T-FHSS, S-FHSS and FASST-C2, and comes with an R334SBS or R334SBS-E receiver. Futaba lists it as discontinued and points buyers to the 10PX or 10PX USLE. [source: https://futabausa.com/product/7pxr/, 2026-09-17]
- Futaba response and telemetry trade-off: Futaba says T-FHSS SR ("Super Response") "increased processing speed to further improve response". The SR system does not support telemetry, while T-FHSS mode does. [source: https://futabausa.com/product/7pxr/, 2026-09-17; https://futabausa.com/product/4pmplus/, 2026-09-17]
- 4PM Plus: 4 channels. Price $310.99–$371.99 depending on the receiver bundle, with a sale price of $248.64 seen. It supports T-FHSS SR, T-FHSS (telemetry), S-FHSS and T-FHSS Mini-Z, and offers 40 model memories, ESC-Link, steering/brake/gyro mixing and a 100-lap timer. Futaba states a "maximum 100-meter operating range" and power from 3×AA (4.5 V). Receiver options: none, R304SBE, R304SB or R334SBS. [source: https://futabausa.com/product/4pmplus/, 2026-09-17]
- 10PX: a 10-channel system sold with an R404SBS or R404SBS-E receiver. Tower Hobbies lists it as the "10PX 10-Channel F-4G Transmitter" and marks those SKUs (FUT01004409-1 / 01004408-1) as discontinued. I found no current USD price on an official page, so the price is unverified. Futaba USA still refers buyers to "10PX or 10PX USLE", so a successor or special-edition SKU appears to exist; its details are unverified. [source: https://www.towerhobbies.com/product/10px-10-channel-f-4g-transmitter-with-r404sbs-e-receiver/FUT010044091.html, 2026-09-17; https://futabausa.com/product/7pxr/, 2026-09-17]
Sanwa (Airtronics in the US)
- M17 (FH5): HobbyTown price $599.00. It has a 480×320 colour touch display, a 1S LiPo, a microSDHC slot, a detachable throttle unit, a screen-reader (audio) function and vibration alerts. It supports FH5/FH4/FH3 RF modes with SUR (Ultra Response) and SXR (Extreme Response) modes. Sanwa claims FH5 "makes new record of the World Fastest Response". The retailer says it is "20% faster than the M12S" and weighs 510 g versus 610 g for the M12. [source: https://www.hobbytown.com/sanwa-airtronics-m17-fh5-4channel-2.4ghz-radio-system-snw101a32465a/p1465450, 2026-09-17; https://www.sanwa-denshi.com/rc/car/propo/m17.html, 2026-09-17]
- RX-493 receiver (sold with the M17 at HobbyTown): 4 channels, telemetry-capable, IPX4 waterproof rating, 26×23.2×14 mm, 6.2 g. [source: https://www.hobbytown.com/sanwa-airtronics-m17-fh5-4channel-2.4ghz-radio-system-snw101a32465a/p1465450, 2026-09-17]
- Sanwa M17 receiver bundling conflict: Sanwa's Japanese page lists compatible receivers but no bundled receiver, while HobbyTown sells a bundle with the RX-493. [source: https://www.sanwa-denshi.com/rc/car/propo/m17.html, 2026-09-17]
- MT-5 (FH5): grayscale full-dot LCD and response modes NOR/SHR/SSR/SUR (Sanwa calls SUR "faster mode than SSR"). It shows three telemetry values at once, and Sanwa claims telemetry works "without response speed reduction". It runs on 3×AAA or an optional 1S LiPo with USB charging. Transmitter code TX-491; compatible receivers RX-491/492/493/493i. Price not found on an official page (unverified). [source: https://www.sanwa-denshi.com/rc/car/propo/mt-5.html, 2026-09-17]
- MT-44: an older FH4T/FH3 4-channel telemetry radio that is still sold through retailers (for example with the RX-482). I did not confirm a current price or status. [source: https://us.amazon.com/4-Channel-2-4GHz-Transmitter-System-Receiver/dp/B07DDLN5F4, 2026-09-17 (search listing only)]
Spektrum (Horizon Hobby)
- DX Pro+ (SPMR5035): 12-channel DSMR+ surface radio, transmitter only, $299.99 at HobbyTown. It was added to HobbyTown's catalogue on 2025-11-25 and was back-ordered on the research date. Features: "Ultra-fast 5.5-millisecond frame rate", DSMR and SLT dual protocol, 250 model memories, programmable vibration alerts, 4×AA power, and Smart telemetry (RPM, speed, ESC temperature, voltage, current). [source: https://www.hobbytown.com/spektrum-rc-dx-pro-12channel-dsmr-surface-radio-transmitter-only-spmr5035/p1783824, 2026-09-17]
- DX6 Rugged (SPM6215): discontinued on Spektrum's site. It offered 6 channels, 20 model memories, selectable 11/16.5/22 ms frame rates, built-in telemetry (a telemetry receiver is needed), USB-C firmware updates, DSMR/SLT dual protocol after a firmware update, AVC programming, and a "water-resistant chassis design protects against minor splashes". It came with the SR515 receiver. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/product/spektrum-dx6-rugged-6-channel-dsmr-transmitter-with-sr515-receiver/SPM6215.html, 2026-09-17]
- DX5 Rugged (SPM5210): discontinued. 5 channels, DSMR backward-compatible with DSM2, SR6200A AVC receiver, 20 model memories, "water-resistant casing and components", failsafe, and Smart telemetry. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/product/dx5-rugged-5-channel-dsmr-transmitter-with-sr6200a/SPM5210.html, 2026-09-17]
- DX5C / DX5C Smart: 5-channel DSMR with AVC, bundled with SRS6000 or AR6100AT receivers. Current price and status are unverified. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/product/spektrum-dx5c-5-channel-dsmr-avc-transmitter-with-srs6000/SPM5110.html, 2026-09-17 (title only)]
- DX5 Pro: I could not confirm a current product page or price, so it is unverified.
FlySky
- Noble NB4 Pro+: $519.99 at Kyosho America (Kyosho SKU 82153-A). AFHDS3, 18 channels, a "2CH ultra-fast and low-latency mode", colour touchscreen, and FGr4B plus FGr8B receivers. The kit includes a 3450 mAh 18650 cell and a hard case. [source: https://kyoshoamerica.com/flysky-noble-nb4-pro-82153-a.html, 2026-09-17]
- NB4 Pro+ claims from a FlySky reseller (SoarSky, $509 sale / $559.99 regular): "1.5ms ultra-low latency", "500m range", i-BUS2 two-way servo programming, voltage and temperature telemetry, and data logging. SoarSky also lists "EdgeTX compatible", a "2.4GHz/900MHz" dual band and a 5000 mAh battery. These last three conflict with Kyosho's listing (3450 mAh) and with what is generally known about the NB4 line, so treat them as unverified. [source: https://soarskyrc.com/products/flysky-nb4-pro-plus-18ch-transmitter?variant=49450426663197, 2026-09-17]
- NB4 and NB4+: FlySky's official pages (flysky-cn.com/nb4) could not be fetched. Specs and prices are unverified.
RadioMaster
MT12: $129.99 direct from RadioMaster. RadioMaster calls it "the first surface radio officially supported by EdgeTX, ExpressLRS, and the Multi-module project." Specs:
- Versions: ELRS with the ER3C-i 3-channel PWM receiver, or 4-in-1 multi-protocol with the R85C 5-channel receiver.
- 16 channels, or 32 on the 4-in-1 version; 10 physical inputs.
- Hall-effect wheel and trigger.
- STM32F407 processor; 128×64 monochrome LCD.
- Power from 2×18650 cells or a 2S pack (not included), with USB-C QC3.0 charging.
- Nano module bay; 480 g.
[source: https://radiomasterrc.com/products/mt12-surface-radio-controller, 2026-09-17]
ExpressLRS (the MT12's ELRS link): the project claims "Up to 1000Hz packet rate", runs on 900 MHz and 2.4 GHz (the MT12 is 2.4 GHz only), is "Fully open source", and is supported by "Over 50 manufacturers". A latency figure specific to the MT12 or ER3C-i was not found (unverified). ELRS failsafe behaviour for PWM receivers was not confirmed because the docs page returned a 404. [source: https://www.expresslrs.org/, 2026-09-17]
RadioLink
RC8X: 8 channels, expandable to 16 with firmware V1.3.5+ and an R16F receiver.
- Latency: "3ms Response" (firmware V1.1.5+ with the FHSS V2 protocol), with 4 ms and 14 ms alternatives.
- Screen: 4.3-inch 800×480 IPS touchscreen. It doubles as an FPV monitor when an external 5.8 G receiver module is fitted ("One Screen, Dual Use").
- 200 model memories.
- Telemetry: RSSI, receiver voltage and pack voltage up to 14S with the R8FGH.
- Receivers: the R8FG has a built-in gyro with gain on CH8. RadioLink claims 600 m ground range with the R8FG (400–1100 m depending on receiver).
The official page gives no price or failsafe details, so both are unverified. [source: https://www.radiolink.com/rc8x, 2026-09-17]
RC6GS V3: €132.00 at EuroRC with the R7FG gyro receiver. 7 channels, 30 model memories, telemetry for RSSI, receiver voltage and pack voltage up to 8S, range "More than 400m" / "600 Meters". The latency text on the same listing ("all channels of RC6GS V2 can respond simultaneously within 12ms") refers to the V2. [source: https://www.eurorc.com/product/33493/radiolink-rc6gs-v3---24ghz-7-channel-with-r7fg-receiver-gyro-and-telemetry-incl, 2026-09-17]
Traxxas TQi
Failsafe (Traxxas Maxx Ultimate 89087-4 manual): "automatic failsafe system that does not require user programming. In the event of signal loss or interference, the throttle will return to neutral and the steering will hold its last commanded position." [source: https://traxxas.com/media/productattach/C-89087-4/2/89087-4-OM-EN-R01.pdf, 2026-09-17]
Generations and receivers:
- Second-generation TQi is identified by a blue "i". It uses the Traxxas Link Wireless Module #6511 and works with receivers #6533 (TSM plus telemetry) and #6518 (telemetry, no TSM).
- A separate third-generation "TQ" line (red logo) uses the #6519 receiver.
- Telemetry needs a TQi transmitter, a #6518 or #6533 receiver, the #6511 module and the app.
The guide is undated. [source: https://traxxas.com/support/traxxas-tqi-compatibility-guide, 2026-09-17]
Traxxas TQi is not water resistant: "The Traxxas TQi transmitter is not water resistant." [source: https://traxxas.com/media/productattach/C-89087-4/2/89087-4-OM-EN-R01.pdf, 2026-09-17]
TQi price: standalone TQi transmitter price unverified.
Horizon/Spektrum receiver failsafe
- SR6200A receiver: "In the unlikely event that the radio link is lost during use, the receiver will drive the throttle channel to the neutral position." Failsafe does not trigger on low receiver voltage or power loss. Operating range is 3.5–9.6 V. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/Files/SPMSR6200A-Manual-EN.pdf, 2026-09-17]
- Arrma Outcast 8S manual: uses the same wording, with failsafe driving throttle to neutral and no failsafe on low battery. [source: https://device.report/manual/536487, 2026-09-17]
2. Stability systems
Traxxas Stability Management (TSM)
- What it does: "TSM senses the vehicle's direction and makes steering corrections to provide straight-ahead full-throttle acceleration without fishtailing or spinouts". Traxxas also says it "intuitively corrects the vehicle's line for faster exit speeds" in corners and keeps the car "arrow straight" under braking. [source: https://traxxas.com/tsm, 2026-09-17]
- Throttle: "TSM never restricts throttle input. The driver always has complete control of the power." The owner's manual says "TSM never limits your throttle input or speed." [source: https://traxxas.com/tsm, 2026-09-17; https://traxxas.com/media/productattach/C-89087-4/2/89087-4-OM-EN-R01.pdf, 2026-09-17]
- Adjustment: set with the TQi Multi-Function knob. "More assistance tightens the control… Less assistance allows the vehicle to be more loose for controlled power slides". Turning the knob fully counter-clockwise turns TSM off, and it can also be set in the Traxxas Link app. The algorithms run "within the receiver". [source: https://traxxas.com/tsm, 2026-09-17]
- Surfaces: the manual says TSM helps on "loose dirt, smooth concrete, and even ice and snow." [source: https://traxxas.com/media/productattach/C-89087-4/2/89087-4-OM-EN-R01.pdf, 2026-09-17]
- Receiver needed: TSM requires the #6533 receiver. [source: https://traxxas.com/support/traxxas-tqi-compatibility-guide, 2026-09-17]
Spektrum Active Vehicle Control (AVC)
What it does: AVC uses "a combination of sensors and exclusive software" in the receiver and makes "as many as 180 steering and power adjustments per second". Unlike TSM it also manages throttle: it "senses any drift in momentum or direction and instantly adjusts power to prevent tail slides". It can be adjusted on the fly, some transmitters have "Drive Modes", and newer receivers auto-calibrate at power-up on level ground. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/spm-bs-avc.html, 2026-09-17]
SR6200A manual: "Steering gain tells the receiver how strongly to assist steering when the vehicle begins to spin out of control". Gain 0 means no correction and 100 means large corrections; the default is 50. The receiver must be calibrated each time it is bound. "Digital servos are required with the SR6200A AVC receiver. Using analog servos with AVC technology will reduce the performance." [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/Files/SPMSR6200A-Manual-EN.pdf, 2026-09-17]
Practical tuning (Big Squid RC, pub. 2015-08-21):
- Faster servos make AVC work better.
- On high traction they used about 20% steering and throttle gain with 100% priority.
- On slippery surfaces they went up to 100% steering and throttle gain with about 80% priority.
This article is old and refers to earlier AVC generations. [source: https://www.bigsquidrc.com/how-to-dialing-in-spektrums-avc-stability-control/, 2026-09-17]
Other gyros
- RadioLink gyro receivers: the R8FG and R7FG have built-in gyros with gain adjusted from the transmitter (CH8 on the RC8X). Futaba and FlySky offer gyro mixing in their radios. [source: https://www.radiolink.com/rc8x, 2026-09-17; https://futabausa.com/product/4pmplus/, 2026-09-17]
3. Servos
How ratings work
- Torque: "Servo torque is measured in ounce-inches and indicates the force" at a 1-inch lever. [source: https://traxxas.com/articles/servo-upgrade-guide, pub. 2024-01-26, accessed 2026-09-17]
- Speed: given in seconds per 60°. Both torque and speed rise with voltage; see the Savox SB-2290SG example below. HV (high-voltage) servos are rated to 7.4–8.4 V. [source: https://www.servos.net/products/savsb2290sg-monster-torque-black-edition, 2026-09-17]
BECs, voltage and brownouts
Castle Creations on external BECs: they "can help prevent brownouts, improve servo performance, and reduce strain on the ESC's internal power system", and are especially useful with "high-voltage LiPo batteries, high-torque digital servos". Castle also advises: "If your steering servo causes brownouts or receiver resets, an external BEC can provide stable power." [source: https://www.castlecreations.com/en/bec-and-voltage-regulators, 2026-09-17]
Castle BEC range:
Model Max output Max input Price CC BEC Nano 6 A 4S $24.95 CC BEC 10A 10 A 6S not listed CC BEC 2.0 14–15 A 14S up to $56.95 (Waterproof version) CC BEC Pro 20 A 12S not listed [source: https://www.castlecreations.com/en/bec-and-voltage-regulators, 2026-09-17]
Traxxas BEC requirement: the 2255 and 2280 brushless servos need the "High-Power BEC Kit" when fitted to the TRX-4 or TRX-6. [source: https://traxxas.com/articles/servo-upgrade-guide, pub. 2024-01-26]
Reefs Triple5 V2: "BEC Recommended for best performance". [source: https://reefsrc.com/products/triple5-v2-brushless-servo, 2026-09-17]
Receivers and failsafe on brownout: Spektrum's failsafe does not trigger on low voltage (SR6200A range 3.5–9.6 V). A brownout can therefore cause a loss of control that failsafe will not catch. That last point is an inference from the manual's wording. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/Files/SPMSR6200A-Manual-EN.pdf, 2026-09-17]
Popular servos
| Servo | Torque | Speed | Voltage | Price | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Savox SB-2290SG (brushless, steel gear) | 624.9 oz-in @6 V / 763.8 @7.4 V / 972.1 @8.4 V | 0.16 / 0.13 / 0.11 s | 6–8.4 V | $163.89 sale ($203.49 regular) | 81 g, 40.3×20.2×38.7 mm, aluminium case, not waterproof | servos.net, 2026-09-17 |
| ProTek 170SBL (Black Label brushless, HV) | 458 oz-in @6 V / 535 @7.4 V | 0.09 / 0.08 s | up to 7.4 V | $175.99 ($187.99 regular) | aluminium case, 150 and 300 mm leads | servos.net, 2026-09-17 |
| Reefs Triple5 V2 (REEFS03) | 500 oz-in @6 V / 555 @7.4 V | 0.20 / 0.17 s | 6–7.4 V | $138.99 | "WATERPROOF (Not a Submarine)", steel gears, 25T, discontinued | reefsrc.com, 2026-09-17 |
| Traxxas 2085X Maxx-Duty | 450 oz-in | not stated by Traxxas | not stated | about $100 street (Big Squid, 2017) | metal gears, finned aluminium case; for Maxx, X-Maxx, XRT | Traxxas guide 2024-01-26; Big Squid 2017-04-10 |
| Traxxas 2085R | 650 oz-in | – | – | – | steel drivetrain; X-Maxx, XRT | Traxxas guide 2024-01-26 |
| Traxxas 2280 brushless | 600 oz-in @6 V, 700+ @7.4 V | – | – | – | waterproof; high-power BEC needed in TRX-4/6 | Traxxas guide 2024-01-26 |
| Traxxas 2255 brushless | 400 oz-in | – | – | – | waterproof; TRX-4/TRX-6 | Traxxas guide 2024-01-26 |
| Traxxas 2275 / 2250 / 2270 | 347 / 330 / 236 oz-in | – | – | – | standard size | Traxxas guide 2024-01-26 |
| Arrma S905 (Outcast 8S) | 500 oz-in (36 kg-cm) @6 V | – | 6.0–8.4 V | – | stock servo | device.report manual, 2026-09-17 |
Full source URLs for the table:
https://www.servos.net/products/savsb2290sg-monster-torque-black-edition
https://www.servos.net/products/ptk170sbl-protek-rc-170sbl-black-label
https://www.bigsquidrc.com/review-traxxas-x-maxx-2085x-servo-upgrade/
Traxxas waterproofing claim: "All Traxxas metal-gear servos are fully waterproof, not merely water resistant". [source: https://traxxas.com/articles/servo-upgrade-guide, pub. 2024-01-26]
Reefs "Triple222": this model could not be found. Reefs RC's site and servo collection list no "Triple222", so treat it as a possible misnomer (unverified). Reefs models I did see include the Triple5 V2, Triple 8 4S Direct Power, 99 Micro ($59.99), 179 Smart Micro ($84.99), 299LP, 422HDV2 and 1100 Smart. [source: https://reefsrc.com/collections/servos, 2026-09-17]
Spektrum servos: no specific model specs were collected (gap).
Sizing guidance (manufacturer-based)
Traxxas mapping by vehicle:
- Micro and sub-micro servos: TRX-4m (2065R), 1/16 models (2080R).
- Standard 2075R/X: Bandit, Rustler, Stampede, Slash.
- 236–400 oz-in: crawlers (TRX-4/TRX-6).
- 450–650 oz-in large-scale servos: Maxx, X-Maxx, XRT.
[source: https://traxxas.com/articles/servo-upgrade-guide, pub. 2024-01-26]
Arrma 8S reference point: Arrma fits a 500 oz-in servo to its 1/8 8S Outcast. [source: https://device.report/manual/536487, 2026-09-17]
AVC-equipped cars: use fast digital servos. [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/ProdInfo/Files/SPMSR6200A-Manual-EN.pdf, 2026-09-17]
4. Waterproofing: what manufacturers actually mean
Traxxas (Maxx Ultimate 89087-4 owner's manual)
What is protected: the model is "designed with water-resistant features to protect the electronics in the model (receiver, servo, electronic speed control)" but "should not be treated as though it is submersible or totally 100% waterproof." (Note that Traxxas marketing elsewhere uses "waterproof".) [source: https://traxxas.com/media/productattach/C-89087-4/2/89087-4-OM-EN-R01.pdf, 2026-09-17]
Cautions:
- "The Traxxas TQi transmitter is not water resistant."
- "DO NOT allow your model to come in contact with salt water (ocean water)".
- Check that the receiver-box O-ring is seated.
- Cut drainage holes in the tyres before wet runs.
[source: same PDF, 2026-09-17]
After a wet run:
- Drain the tyres with high-speed passes.
- Rinse with low-pressure water, not a pressure washer.
- "Spray all the bearings, drivetrain, and fasteners with WD-40® or similar water displacing light oil".
- "Remove the sealed receiver box cover" to let the inside dry.
- "Remove, clean, and re-oil the bearings" in the stub axles and centre driveline.
- Remove the motor and clean mud or dirt from its bearings.
[source: same PDF, 2026-09-17]
Traxxas servos: metal-gear servos are called "fully waterproof, not merely water resistant". [source: https://traxxas.com/articles/servo-upgrade-guide, pub. 2024-01-26]
Arrma / Horizon Hobby (Outcast 8S ARA5810 manual)
What is protected: "The various electronic components used in the vehicle, such as the Electronic Speed Control (ESC), servo(s) and receiver are waterproof, however, most of the mechanical components are water-resistant and should not be submerged." [source: https://device.report/manual/536487, 2026-09-17]
Corrosion risk: "Metal parts, including the bearings, hinge pins, screws and nuts, as well as the contacts in electrical cables, will be susceptible to corrosion if additional maintenance is not performed after running in wet conditions." [source: same]
Motor: "Even minimal water contact can reduce the life of your motor if it has not been certified as water resistant or waterproof." Arrma also suggests a smaller pinion or larger spur gear for wet running to reduce motor strain. [source: same]
Transmitter: "Most transmitters are not water-resistant. Consult your transmitter's manual or the manufacturer before operation." [source: same]
Aftercare:
- "Spray the bearings, drive train, fasteners and other metal parts with a water-displacing light oil. Do not spray the motor."
- Clean the motor with aerosol motor cleaner and re-oil its bearings with light motor oil.
- Dry the battery contacts.
[source: same]
Other brands
- Spektrum radios: the DX6 Rugged and DX5 Rugged are "water-resistant" and protect "against minor splashes". [source: https://www.spektrumrc.com/product/spektrum-dx6-rugged-6-channel-dsmr-transmitter-with-sr515-receiver/SPM6215.html, 2026-09-17]
- Sanwa RX-493: rated IPX4, which means splash protection, not immersion. [source: https://www.hobbytown.com/sanwa-airtronics-m17-fh5-4channel-2.4ghz-radio-system-snw101a32465a/p1465450, 2026-09-17]
- Reefs: "WATERPROOF (Not a Submarine)". [source: https://reefsrc.com/products/triple5-v2-brushless-servo, 2026-09-17]
5. FPV for RC cars
Systems
DJI O4 Air Unit Pro:
- Latency: "as low as 15 ms" with Goggles 3 in racing mode (1080p/100 fps), 19 ms with Goggles N3, and "less than 30 ms" with Goggles 2/Integra.
- Recording: up to 4K/120 fps at 130 Mbps.
- Bands: 5.170–5.250 and 5.725–5.850 GHz.
- 5.8 GHz EIRP: <33 dBm (FCC), <14 dBm (CE).
- Weight: 32 g.
[source: https://www.dji.com/o4-air-unit/specs, 2026-09-17]
DJI O4 Air Unit (non-Pro):
- Latency: as low as 20 ms (Goggles 3) or 24 ms (N3).
- Recording: up to 4K/60 fps at 100 Mbps.
- 5.8 GHz EIRP: <30 dBm (FCC), <14 dBm (CE).
- Weight: 8.2 g with camera.
[source: https://www.dji.com/o4-air-unit/specs, 2026-09-17]
HDZero: claims "less than one millisecond latency", "Fixed Low Latency" and an "uncompressed video stream", based on DM5680/DM6300 chips. The resolution is not stated on its homepage. [source: https://www.hd-zero.com/, 2026-09-17]
Walksnail Avatar (Caddx): specs were not retrieved because the page returned a 404 (gap/unverified).
Analog 5.8 GHz: no manufacturer latency figure collected (gap). The legal points are below.
Car radio with a built-in FPV screen: the RadioLink RC8X screen can show FPV video when an external 5.8 G receiver module is fitted. [source: https://www.radiolink.com/rc8x, 2026-09-17]
US rules: Part 15 (unlicensed) vs Part 97 (amateur)
Part 15.249 limits: in 5725–5875 MHz the fundamental is limited to "50" millivolts/metre and harmonics to "500" microvolts/metre, both measured at 3 m. Last amended 2012-02-01 (77 FR 4914). [source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-47/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-15/subpart-C/subject-group-ECFR2f2e5828339709e/section-15.249, 2026-09-17]
- My calculation: 50 mV/m at 3 m works out to about 0.75 mW EIRP, using EIRP = (E·d)²/30.
- Flite Test (pub. 2016-06-11) converts it to "approximately 0.45 milliwatts ERP". It warns "Don't be fooled by manufacturers saying their gear puts out 25 mW and you don't need a license!" and "If any intentional radiator is not FCC certified, you need a license to operate it."
[source: https://www.flitetest.com/articles/fpv-the-fcc-and-amateur-radio-makes-three, 2026-09-17]
Part 15.247 (digital modulation): in 5725–5850 MHz, digitally modulated systems with a 6 dB bandwidth of at least 500 kHz may use up to "1 Watt" conducted output. Power must be reduced when antenna gain exceeds 6 dBi. [source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-47/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-15/subpart-C/subject-group-ECFR2f2e5828339709e/section-15.247, 2026-09-17]
- This rule is why FCC-certified digital systems such as the DJI O4 can list up to 30–33 dBm EIRP.
- Analog FM video transmitters are generally assumed not to qualify under 15.247 and to fall back to the 15.249 limits. That is my interpretation and is not confirmed by an FCC statement I retrieved.
Part 97 (amateur radio):
- Band access: the 5 cm band (5.650–5.925 GHz, Region 2) is listed under §97.301(a), the Technician/General/Advanced/Extra table. Technician licensees can therefore use it; the small model reading the eCFR page contradicted itself on this, so re-check the table directly. [source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-47/chapter-I/subchapter-D/part-97/subpart-D/section-97.301, 2026-09-17]
- Power: "An amateur station must use the minimum transmitter power necessary" and the ceiling is 1.5 kW PEP. [source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-47/chapter-I/subchapter-D/part-97/subpart-D/section-97.313, 2026-09-17]
- Encryption and commercial use: prohibited are "messages encoded for the purpose of obscuring their meaning" and communications "for hire or for material compensation". Encrypted digital FPV links and commercial filming are therefore not allowed under an amateur licence. [source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-47/chapter-I/subchapter-D/part-97/subpart-B/section-97.113, 2026-09-17]
- Station ID: the call sign must be sent "at the end of each communication, and at least every 10 minutes"; video ID is permitted. [source: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-47/chapter-I/subchapter-D/part-97/subpart-B/section-97.119, 2026-09-17]
FCC Covered List: foreign-made UAS and UAS critical components
2025-12-22 addition: the FCC added "all UAS and UAS critical components produced in a foreign country" to the Covered List. This followed a National Security Determination received 2025-12-21 and tied to §1709 of the FY2025 NDAA. [source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DOC-416839A1.pdf (FCC Fact Sheet, 2025-12-22), 2026-09-17; https://www.hklaw.com/en/insights/publications/2025/12/fcc-adds-all-foreign-made-drones, 2026-09-17]
Existing products: "This action does not affect any previously-purchased drone. Consumers can continue to use any drone they have already lawfully purchased or acquired". Previously authorized models may still be sold, imported and marketed. Only new equipment authorizations are blocked. [source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DOC-416839A1.pdf, 2026-09-17]
Which components count as "UAS critical components" (per Mayer Brown's summary):
- data transmission devices
- communications systems
- flight controllers
- ground control stations and UAS controllers
- navigation systems
- sensors and cameras
- batteries and battery management systems
- motors
- associated software
[source: https://www.mayerbrown.com/en/insights/publications/2026/01/foreign-produced-uas-and-critical-components-added-to-fccs-covered-list, 2026-09-17]
Exemption process: an item is exempt if DoW (Department of War) or DHS determines it "does not pose" the risk. [source: https://www.hklaw.com/en/insights/publications/2025/12/fcc-adds-all-foreign-made-drones, 2026-09-17]
2026-01-07 exemptions: items on the Blue UAS Cleared List and Buy American "domestic end products" were exempted until 2027-01-01. [source: https://www.hklaw.com/en/insights/publications/2026/01/fcc-exempts-certain-drones-from-covered-list, 2026-09-17]
2026-01-21 firmware waiver (DA 26-69): UAS and critical components authorized before 2025-12-22 "may continue to receive software and firmware updates that mitigate harm to U.S. consumers at least until January 1, 2027." [source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-69A1.txt, 2026-09-17]
2026-05-08 extension (DA 26-454): the waiver was extended to "at least until January 1, 2029". It now covers Class I and Class II permissive changes and also covers foreign routers. [source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-454A1.pdf, 2026-09-17]
2026-07-01 FCC fact sheet on the "component part loophole":
- It references UAS Covered List additions in December 2025 and March 2026, including conditional approvals.
- It states that "previously-authorized equipment may not be modified so as to become covered equipment."
[source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DOC-422746A1.pdf, 2026-09-17]
2026-07-21 (DA 26-761): UAS and components holding DoW/DHS Conditional Approval stay exempt with no fixed end date, "for as long as the applicant… abides by the onshoring plan". [source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-761A1.pdf, 2026-09-17]
2026-07-28 (DA 26-789): a similar firmware waiver to 2029-01-01 was granted for foreign power inverters and "advanced robotic devices". [source: https://docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-789A1.pdf, 2026-09-17]
What this means for DJI FPV gear:
- O4 units and Goggles 2/3/Integra/N3 authorized before 2025-12-22 remain legal to own, use, resell and repair, and can get firmware updates through 2029.
- FPV Drone Guide (pub. 2026-07-02, updated 2026-07-30) reports that "US stock is not being replenished". That claim is not verified against DJI.
[source: https://fpvdroneguide.com/blog/dji-fpv-ban-update-2026, 2026-09-17]
Relevance to RC cars: the Covered List targets UAS and UAS critical components. Whether a video transmitter or radio sold for ground vehicles counts as a "UAS critical component" is uncertain. I retrieved no FCC FAQ text on dual-use hobby gear because fcc.gov/covered-list-faqs-uas-and-uas-critical-components returned 403. FPV Drone Guide claims RC control links (ELRS, Crossfire) are "completely unaffected". That conflicts with the listed "UAS controllers / data transmission devices" categories, so treat it as unverified.
6. Radio certification
FCC ID lookup:
- The official FCC Equipment Authorization System search (fcc.gov/oet/ea/fccid) returned 403 to automated fetching, so its details are unverified here.
- fccid.io is "not affiliated with the FCC". It indexes public FCC filings and lets you search by FCC ID, grantee code, frequency range or IMEI/TAC. Documents include internal photos, test reports, user manuals and grant info.
- Practical use for RC gear: check that a VTX or radio has a grant and what power and frequencies it was tested at.
[source: https://fccid.io/, 2026-09-17]
EU RED cybersecurity (Delegated Regulation (EU) 2022/30): it activates RED Art. 3(3)(d), (e) and (f).
- (d) network protection: applies to "any radio equipment that can communicate itself over the internet, whether it communicates directly or via any other equipment".
- (e) data and privacy: applies to internet-capable equipment plus childcare equipment, toys (Toy Safety Directive 2009/48/EC) and wearables.
- (f) fraud protection: applies to equipment that enables money or virtual-currency transfers.
[source: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32022R0030, 2026-09-17]
Application date:
- The original text says it "shall apply from 1 August 2024".
- The European Commission's RED page says it "entered into application in August 2025". That reflects a postponement; the amending act is believed to be Delegated Regulation (EU) 2023/2444, which was not retrieved (unverified).
- On 2026-02-16 the Commission adopted a delegated regulation repealing 2022/30 with effect from 2027-12-11, when the Cyber Resilience Act takes over.
[source: https://single-market-economy.ec.europa.eu/sectors/electrical-and-electronic-engineering-industries-eei/radio-equipment-directive-red_en, 2026-09-17]
Relevance to RC cars:
- Wi-Fi or Bluetooth modules that link a car or radio to a phone app or the internet can fall under Art. 3(3)(d). Examples are Traxxas Link Wireless Module-type accessories and Wi-Fi FPV cameras.
- RC cars marketed as toys can fall under (e) when they are internet-capable.
- A pure 2.4 GHz point-to-point link with no internet path is arguably out of scope.
This mapping is my interpretation of the scope text, not a Commission statement.
Harmonised standards: EN 18031-1/-2/-3 were not verified in this session.
CE and 5.8 GHz power: EU/CE limits at 5.8 GHz are much lower than FCC limits; DJI lists <14 dBm CE vs <30–33 dBm FCC for O4 units. [source: https://www.dji.com/o4-air-unit/specs, 2026-09-17]
Conflicts / uncertain
- Traxxas "waterproof" vs "water-resistant": Traxxas marketing uses "waterproof", and its servo guide says metal-gear servos are "fully waterproof". The Maxx Ultimate manual says "water-resistant" and "should not be treated as… submersible or totally 100% waterproof." Arrma's manual calls the electronics "waterproof" but mechanical parts only "water-resistant".
- TSM vs AVC throttle behaviour: Traxxas says TSM "never restricts throttle". Spektrum AVC actively "adjusts power". These are different designs, and I did not find a direct manufacturer comparison.
- FlySky NB4 Pro+ specs: the SoarSky reseller listing claims EdgeTX compatibility, 2.4 GHz/900 MHz and a 5000 mAh battery. Kyosho America lists a 3450 mAh 18650. Unverified pending FlySky's official specs page, which was not fetchable.
- Savox SB-2290SG torque at 7.4 V: servos.net lists 763.8 oz-in, while an RCSuperstore product title shows "694 oz/in @ 7.4V". The official Savox sheet was not retrieved.
- Futaba 10PX status: the Tower Hobbies SKUs are discontinued, but Futaba USA still recommends the "10PX or 10PX USLE". The current SKU and price are unverified.
- Reefs "Triple222": not found on Reefs RC's site. It may be a misnomer.
- Covered List scope for ground-vehicle FPV and radios: the component categories include data transmission devices, cameras and controllers, but I retrieved no FCC guidance on hobby RC-car equipment. Reseller and blog claims that "control links are unaffected" are unverified.
- RadioLink RC6GS V3 latency: the EuroRC V3 listing quotes a V2 latency figure (12 ms).
- Analog VTX legality under 15.247 vs 15.249: my interpretation, not confirmed by an FCC document in this session.
- EU RED 2022/30 application date: the text says 2024-08-01; the Commission says August 2025 (postponed). The amending act was not retrieved.
- DX5 Pro, DX5C current price, TQi price, MT-5 price, RC8X price, MT12/ELRS latency, Walksnail specs, Spektrum servo specs: not verified.